P&T Page Intro

The Pharmacy and Therapeutics (P&T) Committee is responsible for developing and maintaining medications and related products listed on the Ohio Department of Medicaid’s (ODM) Unified Preferred Drug List (UPDL) pursuant to the Ohio Revised Code § 5164.7510. The UPDL is maintained through a review of current evidence-based medicine and based upon the professional judgment of physicians, pharmacists, and other experts that participate in ODM’s Pharmacy and Therapeutics (P&T) Committee. The UPDL list can be found under the Drug Coverage tab.

The P&T Committee is composed of ten members appointed by the Medicaid Director. The P&T Committee members meet up to four times per year-including an annual review of the entire UPDL. Topics that may be discussed at meetings include:

  • New brand or generic drugs
  • UPDL changes based on any local or national issues (including contract issues)
  • Stakeholder feedback through a Public Comment session

The members of the P&T Committee are:

  • Scott Baran, RPh; Ohio Department of Medicaid
  • Michael Dietz, DO; Liaison, Ohio Osteopathic Association
  • Mary Ann Dzurec, PharmD; Liaison, Ohio Pharmacists Association
  • Suzanne Eastman, RPh, MS, Vice Chair; Liaison, Ohio Pharmacists Association
  • Stephen Hersey, MD; Liaison, American Academy of Pediatrics
  • Karen Jacobs, DO, Chair; Specialty Psychiatry; Liaison, Ohio Psychiatric Physicians Association
  • Melissa Jefferis, MD; Specialty Family Medicine; Liaison, Ohio Academy of Family Physicians
  • Sherri Sievers, APRN; Liaison, Ohio Association of Advanced Practice Nurses